Menu Search Hoax-Slayer

Facebook 'A Look Back' Video is Genuine (But Watch For Scam Imitations)

A number of Facebook users have heard rumours that the Facebook 'A Look Back' video feature is somehow malicious. The rumours have caused concern and confusion among users.

However, the Facebook A Look Back feature is perfectly legitimate and Facebookers should not fear using it if they wish. An entry about the feature in the Facebook help files explains:

A Look Back is an experience that compiles your highlights since joining Facebook. Depending on how long you've been on Facebook and how much you've shared, you'll see a movie, a collection of photos or a thank you card.

You can easily see your A Look Back video by following the URL below while logged into your Facebook account:
https://www.facebook.com/lookback

While the feature is perfectly safe, Facebook users should nevertheless watch out for scam messages that attempt to capitalize on it. There have been reports of a scam campaign in which users are tricked into going to a bogus page and installing malware disguised as the A Look Back video.

Do not click on any links or open any attachments that claim that you must download software or install an app to see your A Look Back video. Do not be tricked into going to a third party website with the promise of viewing or editing your video.

To avoid any potential security threats, ensure that you go to the legitimate website to view your video.


Last updated: February 7, 2014
First published: February 7, 2014
By Brett M. Christensen
About Hoax-Slayer

References
Facebook celebrates 10 years with personalised 'Look Back' videos
Facebook Information About A Look Back
https://www.facebook.com/lookback
Don't be tricked by the Facebook 'A look back' virus

© Brett M.Christensen, 2014. All Rights Reserved.

Go to Desktop Version